Tags

,

Olive oil isn’t just irreplacable in the kitchen, it’s also an essential item in my bathroom. It serves several purposes, for instance as a make-up remover or for hair and skincare. Generally, with the myriads of products it is important to pay attention to the label “extra virgin olive oil”. It means that because of gentle processing the percentage of acid lies under 0.8%.

I apply olive oil as a hair treatment by spreading a small amount on my hands and working it from the ends upwards into the hair. I don’t go all the way up to the ears, otherwise my hair will look greasy afterwards. I do this at night, twist my hair in a bun and secur it, put a towel on my pillow and sleep on the treatment. In order to intensify the impact with warmth, you can use a hairdryer, but with an application time that long, it’s really not necessary. The next morning I thoroughly wash my hair and – voila – it looks much healthier.

To take my makeup off, I dispense a little bit of olive oil on a cotton pad. Olive oil even removes waterproof mascara, but it does sometimes take a few pads.

If I want to clean my brushes, I wash them with gentle kids’ shampoo. Beforehand, I remove a lot of product by rubbing the bristles on a face tissue soaked in olive oil. Thus most of the colour is already removed and brushes with real hair are additionally moisturised and last longer.

Olive oil is also useful to moisturise particularly dry spots of skin. Because my hands get really dry during the cold seasons, I like to rub olive oil into the skin, put on cotton gloves and sleep like that. The next morning my hands and fingernails feel incredibly soft.

Olive oil is a real jack-of-all-trades!

