Tags

, , ,

I hope you have had a lovely, restful holiday! Christmas always puts me in a contemplative mood, which is why I have been taking a little time off, but now I’m back with lots of ideas. This thought is one of them: Especially around christmastime people tend to spend money on charity to fight hunger. While that is commendable, I find it absurd that we westerners first exploit poorer countries to then give a tiny bit back. Please don’t get me wrong, I hope this doesn’t sound patronizing, I’m guilty myself, since I go shopping at H&M and Primark. However, I don’t feel as comfortable doing that any more. That’s why one of my New Year’s resolutions is to do altogether less shopping and go for quality. During the last few years I have been doing a lot more vintage shopping, which is a great way to get quality on a budget.

Now I would like to introduce another way to shop beautiful cloths with a clean conscience: fair trade fashion. Particularly young designers place value on concerns like the environment or fair wages for farmers and workers. On the German market armedangels is probably the most popular label in this segment. By the way, their online store has a three-for-two deal until the end of december!

Personally, I find British People Tree even more tempting. These pictures might explain why:

Their designs are just so appealing! In terms of pricing, these items are between 6 and 150£; there is also a sale right now!

