Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This year, I have discovered some amazing products, but I have also stayed true to certain classics. Personally, I think that skin care is more important than makeup, so that’s what I’ll start with:

1. Skin Care

a) Face:

This summer, the Vichy Normaderm Deep Cleansing Gel combined with the  respective toner, the Purete Thermale 3 in 1 Calming Cleansing Solution really cleared up my skin. In the wintertime, however, this series, just like the amazing AOK Pfirsichhaut Fluid, is too drying for my combination skin. Once or twice a week, I peeled my skin with AOK Sex-a-Peel  and applied Luvos Heilerdemaske, a healing earth mask, both of which helped to keep my acne at bay. Every once in a while I pampered my skin with the Garnier Pure Self-Heating Sauna Mask. The Alverde Eye Creme Augentrost did an amazing job throughout the year and as usual Bepanthen Wund- und Heilsalbe has worked miracles for my dry lips (this is actually supposed to heal nappy rash and sore nipples, I think it’s sold as Bepanthen Cream internationally).

b) Body

This category will be a lot shorter, I’m not as fussy with body products and particularly in the mornings everything just has to be quick for me… The Dove Beauty Bar is my faithful companion, I haven’t purchased a shower gel in years. Gilette Venus is just the most thorough razor and to peel my skin I go with a cheap peeling glove. In the summertime, I moisturize with CD Feuchtigkeitscreme Wasserlilie, in the winter I prefer to go with body butters such as Balea Bodybutter Kakao.

2. Make-up

First of all, I would like to refer to my post about drugstore makeup, there you will find swatches and detailed descriptions of many favorites.

Especially when it comes to makeup I have been experimenting like crazy this year. The only two products I have been using regularly for more than a year now are by Artdeco, their classic eyeshadow base and mascara, the Artdeco All-in-One Mascara. I switched my concealers and foundations a lot, because my skin colour varies quite dramatically. In the undereye area I love  L’Oreal Touche Magique, against pimples and scars I prefer cream concealers , recently Manhattan 2in1 Concealer. For special occasions I like the high coverage Vichy Dermablend Foundation, but generally I went with tinted moisturizers, for example by Nivea, but I’m still looking for a better product. My absolute favorite makeup product of 2011 has to be the Fairy Dust  highlighter from the Catrice Floralista LE, hopefully Catrice will have a similar subtle highlighter in their basic product range soon. My favorite eyeshadows this year are also by Catrice: C’mon Chameleon and My First Copperware Party. Unfortunately I dropped my favorite blush yesterday so it has survived exactly one year:  BeYu Nr. 270 Salmon, at least I’ve used it almost daily. That’s it! Of course I’ve used a lot more, but I didn’t want this entry to be superlong and these are the best of the best!

3. Fragrances

My fragrance collection is growing and growing, but mostly I only go with one or two perfumes for a certain period of time. Last winter, I went with Dolce&Gabbana The One a lot, especially at night, in the daytime I preferred Armani Emporio She, whereas in the spring and summer I was totally into DKNY Be Delicious. Since the beginning of autumn, I’ve been using Versace Versense and Valentino Rock’n Rose quite frequently.

