Tags

, , ,

As some of you may have already heard, the brand bebe young care brought out a new blend of lip balm and lipstick in January, called “goodbye lipstick”. Of course, I just HAD TO get both colours, nude and pink… Here’s what I think:

Manufacturer
Johnson & Johnson

Made in EU.
www.bebe.de

What they promise
– moisture with jojobaoil and vitamin E
– a hint of colour
– pigments melt instantly when you apply it and leave a natural finish

Ingredients
Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Synthetic Wax, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Tocopheryl Acetate, Simmondsia Chinensis Seed Oil, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Alcohol, Aqua, Silica, Hydrated Silica, Tocopherol, Parfum, CI 15850, CI 42090, CI 77491, CI 77891

I have researched all of these and some are a little bit questionable, some websites even say they are not recommendable at all. That’s not great, but it isn’t a surprising result either for a conventional lip product.

Price
One lipstick is about 1,75 €.

swatches on the back of my hand; my very dry lips, down on the left: nude, down on the right: pink

Application
Here I have to differentiate between colours, the pink lipstick looks very dark in the packaging, but it comes out as a hint of pink. It’s rather glossy and feels really lovely on the lips. They look a lot more moisturised and the wrinkles are somewhat concealed.
The nude lipstick also leaves a hint of colour, it brightens the lips up just a little. The consistency is less glossy, so dry bits are more apparent. The result is not as bad as with a regular lipstick, but itÄs not great for superdry lips.
Both have no glitter in them whatsoever.

Scent
This is a brand for teenage girls, you can see it in the packaging and you can smell it. This is probably supposed to be raspberry, but the sweet smell reminds me more of HubbaBubba bubblegum. It doesn’t bother me, but it does smell artificial.

Moisturizing effect
These lipstick do not dry out my lips. However, I can’t say that they act like a proper lip balm either, I rather feel my skin softening and therefore it appears healthier, the “labello effect”. That’s not surprising considering the main ingredient is a paraffin, a softener made of petroleum. Therefore, I regard these products more as subtle lipsticks, which conceal dry lips and otherwise trust in organic lip balms, like Burt’s Bees.

Conclusion
I would definitely repurchase the glossy pink lipstick, and while I don’t like the nude one quite as much, I will be using it when I’m wearing heavy eye make up.

+ lovely subtle colours, healthy glow, good price
– questionable ingredients, insufficient moisturizing effect

