Tags

, , ,

My local drugstore currently offers a 20% discount on all MaxFactor products, so I took a good look at the counter and bought a mascara I’ve wanted to try for ages, because I had read so many favourable reviews: False Lash Effect Fusion. What eventually convinced me to purchase it was the little goodie that came with it, I’ll show you at the end of this post.

Covergirl is the sister company of MaxFactor and I’ve heard that this product is very similar to the Covergirl Lash Blast Mascara, but I can’t tell you for sure, since I’ve never tried that. I can just tell you why I really like this mascara.

Maxfactor False Lash Effect Fusion Mascara

no mascara, one coat, two coats

I find it very difficult to recommend mascaras, because whether a mascara suits you really depends on your natural lashes and the look you’re going for. My lashes are naturally curled and reasonably long. What I look for in a mascara is deep black colour, volume and length, but nothing too over the top. As you can hopefully see from my horrible swatches, the mascara offers exactly that. It’s not too dry so you can apply several coats without creating too much clumpiness and what I like a lot about it is the way my lashes feel even with many coats: still quite soft. I’ve read some complaints about the big brush, but I haven’t struggled with the application at all (and I have two left hands!). So I would recommend it, but it doesn’t beat my all-time favourite mascara: Artdeco All in One.

Now for the goodie that came with it: the smoky eye effect eyeshadow in onyx smoke. This is a black and white cream shadow in a stick form, which you can supposedly use to create an effortless smokey eye look. Unfortunately, I haven’t found it to be effortless, the shadows tend to slip and crease a lot, especially the dark colour. Generally, I’m not too happy with the black, because it is quite rough and uncomfortable to apply. The white is easier to work with and works well as a base on the lid. I’m thinking that these shades would be suitable for a sixties eye makeup, would you like me to try that? Finally, the swatches:

Maxfactor Smoky Eye Effect Eyeshadow Onyx
as you can hopefully tell, the eyeshadows are quite glittery

Do you have experiences with either the mascara or the eyeshadow stick? Do they look appealing to you?

